Dedicated to Deposits: Deals, Data, and Discussion
Featured Savings Rates
Featured Accounts
Back to Budgeting and Taxes

Woman Drains Ex’s Retirement Account

Monday, January 7, 2013 - 6:06 PM
Divorce is a tough experience, but such hardship doesn't cut you any slack if you don't stay on top of your retirement paperwork, as one poor fellow discovered.

Woman drains ex’s retirement account « Bankrate, Inc.
ShorebreakShorebreak2,372 posts since
Apr 6, 2010
Rep Points: 12,661
1. Tuesday, January 8, 2013 - 10:59 AM
Shorebreak:  I think my DP's brokerage must have seen that article you posted because yesterday my DP got a letter from them in the mail concerning "my" accessing his account and he should change his password.  I have been an Agent on his IRA for upteen years and never had a problem with the login.  They say I cannot have my own User ID and Password because I don't have an account with them.  So we came to an agreement that "he" has to sit at my computer and type in the login and I am allowed to read the account info as long as "I" do not do the login.  This is such a bunch of garbage and in no way is adding protection to someone's account!  I have done all the financial and tax work for us for all these years and now I am treated like a possible theif?  Their intentions may be good but this is a stupid way to try to protect accounts, imo.  I think it has a lot to do with that hacker who is supposed to hit them and other banks this Spring.  I sure hope they don't read more articles about spouses stealing from one another's accounts or we may see a Nany Cam in our apartment one of these days! :)
paoli2paoli21,142 posts since
Aug 10, 2011
Rep Points: 5,096
2. Tuesday, January 8, 2013 - 12:12 PM
1. What a wife! :D  Consider the $42K a small price to pay to get away from her; who may do more harmful damages if stayed married.

2. She is guilty of opening other's private letter.

3. Trust nobody, until proven trustworthy, as far as finance is concerned.