Dedicated to Deposits: Deals, Data, and Discussion
Featured Savings Rates
Featured Accounts

State Of Families Now And Who Have Been Criminally Prosecuted

Ally6770Ally6770937 posts since
Jan 16, 2010
Rep Points: 2,727
1. Saturday, September 14, 2013 - 8:14 AM
The biggest joke of all is that most banks, mine especially, has a big photo on the wall as you enter the door of their latest "Financial Advisor".  You know, the person who is there to sell you all of these great financial instruments since CD rates are so low.  What a joke!  The last place I would want to get advice from is someone involved with my bank! 
paoli2paoli21,401 posts since
Aug 10, 2011
Rep Points: 6,135
2. Saturday, September 14, 2013 - 8:50 AM
I can tell you that when I worked in a bank many of those "Financial Advisors" were only salesmen on commissions. At that time they could make $7,000 and more selling an annuity. These people should not be allowed in bank and credit union offices.  I reported several of them not only where I worked but others that worked in the small town I lived that sold annuities or tried to sell annuities to people with their IRA money, and for other senior citizens who had no business being in an annuity. One even tried to sell one to a mentally challenged person. These were not immediate annuities. Many of the banks and credit unions actually paid the customer service people $25 to $50 if they referred a customer to these "financial advisors". 
Jan 16, 2010
3. Saturday, September 14, 2013 - 9:13 AM