Featured Savings Rates
Featured Accounts

Fifth Third Bank (OH) Reviews

Average Rating:
Based on 47 reviews


Banking Fees

Posted by: manickats | Mar 18, 2013

Kevin T. Kabat, Big Cheese of Fifth Third bank just got a raise from $7 million a year to $9 million a year in one year. All they had to do was add a $3.95 a month charge for having a debit card, a $15.00 a month fee if you don't use multiple services, and a $2.00 fee for transactions from a non-fifth third ATM. Oh yeah, they also have "Early Access" so you can borrow money as a payday loan and charge $10 for each $100 you borrow.

 I'm urging a boycott on Fifth Third Bank. I want some of Kabat's millions given back to the people he stole it from.

Technically Weak

Posted by: dickammo | Jan 5, 2015

I work as a bookkeeper for two non profits with a total of 6 accounts at Fifth Third.

The tellers and branch employees are their strong suite.

Technically they are weak:

Fifth Third Direct is a disaster. It has lots of glitches and weak technical support.

Their security in all areas may protect them, but cause difficulties for us as customers.

Insulting Customer Treatment

Posted by: Warren752 | Apr 24, 2015

I have been a customer since about 1975. Never had a dispute with them about money amounts. Recently I withdrew cash from an ATM at their branch. One of the twenties I was supposed to get was a five dollar bill instead. After wasting too much time with them, I got a provisional fifteen dollar credit. Then the credit was revoked! I know what I got, but they would not believe me.
I have run a very large amount of money through my accounts over the years but they would not trust me about fifteen dollars!! No 'customer good will' at all.
I closed my accounts.

FIFTH THIRD BANK SUCKS

Fifth Third bank is the WORST bank I have ever done business with. The will harass you NON-STOP. You can complain, but nothing ever happens. Their people are rude, insensitive robots. PLEASE save yourself from a lot of anguish. DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH FIFTH THIRD BANK. If you do, I promise you will regret it. Even if you pay all your bills on time, they will still make your life a living hell. I would gladly pay a higher interest rate to be rid off these a** clowns.

5/3 Bank Lacks Support And Friendliness To Its' Customers.

I must say, to begin I was happy with the service from 5/3.  But as time progressed, they slowly began lacking in support and help for customer support.  I was constantly finding that I was being charged for many different fees and was not alerted about many of them prior.  Ultimately, this led me to close both of my personal accounts with 5/3 and switch to a different bank.  I don't think that I would ever give them another try, nor would I recommend them to any of my friends or relatives.  I have never been happier since switching from 5/3 bank.

Fifth-Third - Not Very Good.

Posted by: Leon | Jul 19, 2013

I've been a 5-3 account holder for 12 years running, including ten years of mortgages and checking account.  I continue to use them as a checking account only now.  Through the years I have found them to be mediocre at best, and at times just awful.  They seem to think they a good job, and at least I have not lost money because of them, but they are far from desireable to me.  I have several other banks I work with more than Fifth-Third, and I have just let the checking account remain there as it hasn't caused any problems. 

 

Overall, I suppose you could do worse, but I wouldn't recommend them.  I think you will find that as long as there are no particular problems, then all is happy happy and polite smiles.  Once you go to them with an issue you might find a turn in attitude.

 

I am closing my acct there soon as I find the other banks far superior in attitude AND in products.

They STOLE My Money!

I've had nothing but problems with this bank from the start. Recently, they STOLE $1000 from my ATM deposit. They claim that I'll get the $1000 back but it may take a while for it to be "processed and returned." This place is a joke. Save yourself the headache and go to another bank.

Not Pleased

Posted by: nothappy | Jan 31, 2011

I was very unhappy with my experience with Fifth Third.  I have been a client for some time now and when I received a $74 over draft fee. One was for 1.00 so they charged me 37.00 another for 11.00 and they charged me another 37.00. I tried to call the 800 number and the girl was not nice.  I then went to my branch and they were no help at all.  All I wanted was for them to drop the $1.00 overdraft and I would pay the other.  They would not even talk to me about it there so I canceled my account! 

Underhanded, Sneaky, And TERRIBLE Customer Service Wish I Could Pick NO STAR

Posted by: Darlene54 | Sep 22, 2011

My son opened a 5/3 checking bank account when he went to the University of  Dayton (UD) as it was readily assessible at the college and convenient in his home town so that mom could deposit money.  He spent 5 years at UD and is now presently in medical school at the Uniformed Services of Health Sciences (USUHS) in Bethesda, MD.  All students have to commit to a branch of the armed forces.  He decided to leave his "student" checking account open in case he ran into issues and mom needed to help out as it was a joint account.

Neither of us has had any contact with 5/3 bank UNTIL yesterday when I received a letter that the account was closed and sent to collections for an amount of $40.91.  I called my son and he has not used the account.  Multiple phone calls, shuffling of phone calls, and long waits.............here is what this bank did WITHOUT notifiying either my son or me via email or USPS.  As of his last birthday, they switched the account to a "regular" account, even though he is still a student and began withdrawing $7.00/month for maintenance fees.  We were never notified of this or an overdraft.  First communication received was from the senior vice president stating that the account was closed and sent to collections for a total of $40.91.

Main issue is that  it was done without communication, an easy way to make money and now, ruin credit.....

I HATE Fifth Third

Posted by: mriggs | Jul 26, 2011

I've been with Fifth Third since I was 18 (in 2005) and could open a checking account. I've had a credit card with them since then (has been close to maxed out since 2008) I've made maybe 2 or 3 accidental late payments, and went over my limit once (this is out of 6 years). Recently I made that 2nd or 3rd accidental late payment, I payed the fee and crazy interest and that was that. On the 19th I made an emergency transaction and came in under my credit limit, it was posted on the 20th as my statement says. The new statement period started the 21st. When I got my new statement, it said that my credit limit was decreased and I was now over my limit. I got no warning or anything, and the purchase had been made prior to the decrease. NO WHERE on my statement before that had it said that my limit was decreased. They made my minimum payment $300 instead of the usual $100. MY TRANSACTION WAS BEFORE THE DECREASE!!!! I tried to explain this to them, and that I could not afford the $300 minimum payment, and that they decreased my limit AFTER I made the purchase!! They pretty much said FU. Not to mention I was transfered FOUR times while trying to get this resolved and everyone had a tone with me, yes I had a tone, but when you are trying to please your customers you should do it with a smile even though said customer may be pissed! I'm sure they have dealt with much worse than my "tone". 

Another time, I was trying to find a better way to save money and put all of my money into my savings account that I wasn't going to use. Unfortunatly things kept coming up and I had to keep taking out of it. I was then charge a $10 "excessive transaction fee". I went to the bank  and demanded my money and to close my accounts (this was the third time I've had an issue with them), they talked me into staying though I was still pissed! They could atleast give you a notice before they apply an "excessive transaction fees". But they don't care about the customer, they just want their money!

They recently had a class action settlement that I unfortunatly didn't take part in because I wasn't sure it was ligit and didn't feel comfortable giving out my account number. I have had three instances of their overlapping overdraft fee's etc, and have probably forked out atleast $1000 in said fees.

DO NOT USE FIFTH THIRD! They don't care about their customers, they just want your money!

Fifth Third Bank - Worst I've Ever Worked With

Posted by: dpaul | Mar 5, 2014

I was unfortunate enough to have Fifth Third Bank purchase my mortgage. They are not able to provide me with any visibility to activity online and to even receive paperless statements I have to get an ATM card ?!? Now they are telling me I have to come into a branch! I live in VA and closest branch is hundreds of miles away. Other problems with this bank too numerous to mention. Avoid at all costs!

Fifth Third Bank Ohio -The Worst I Have Ever Seen-

Posted by: katt12 | Dec 21, 2012

    Do not what ever you do, trust them to do a credit card bank transfer.. The number of the account was double checked not just by myself but others, Well they cant be trusted to type in a number correctly.  Or even take responcibility to reimburse the fees that incured as they had to send this out as a check..Which they did but to a wrong account.. Then after a month we found out it was typed in wrong. So after fighting for a week they canceled it to return to the account. So they could reissue it....Still  has not been not received by  the buisness expecting payment.. now into 5 weeks and still incurring late fees and interest that they dont care about...The accounts we have will soon be moved.. AND NEVER will I use them again..

Worthless Fees!!!!

Posted by: kill53 | Oct 2, 2012

I am writing this as a young person who is doing pretty well for her age, a customer Fifth Third Bank should be striving to please!  I had thousands of dollars in different programs at Fifth Third Bank, and always received excessive worthless fees, for credit cards, accounts, brokerage,ect.  I have since found a credit union that actually splits it's profits with me and gives me money each year!!!  My job recently forced me to use Fifth Third Bank for my employer HSA.  Fifth Third was charing me more in monthy fees each month than I was making in interest, just to have the account open (they were doing nothing for me)!  Then when I decided to transfer the account to my credit union, they charged me a $25.00 closure fee!!!  The customer service person did not even care that I was upset, and did nothing to try to make me any happier.  When you close your accounts at Fifth Third Bank, they tie up your money, so the institution you transfer to can't get it for months--this was true for my brokerage and my HSA account.  Take my advice, find a good credit union, and a good investment company and stay away from Fifth Third Bank!!!

Where Do I Start?

Recently I found out an employee of 5/3rd bank gave personal and confidential information about my account to an acquaintance who had no business in my personal affairs.  This was unbelievable to me and no one at 5/3rd will do anything to the employee or employees in the branch that this occurred.  After 20 plus years of using their bank, I wonder how many other people have been subjected to having their personal information told to anyone that asks.

Fifth Third Bank Renigs On Interest Rate

Posted by: randenise | Aug 1, 2013

I was informed today that Fifth Third has refused to honor a mortgage refinance loan rate commitment, because they didn't want to absorb the extra cost due recent increases in rates.. I intend to report this unethical behavior to the Federal Reserve. Truth is the application process dragged on and on, and in the meantime interest rates went up. The loan officer kept extending the Good Faith Estimate, but his superiors chose not to honor the officer's verbal and written commitments. I would not recommend them as a lender.

Fifth Third Is Trying To Make Me Help Pay Its Settlement Fees

I had an account with fifth third until the end of 2008 when I moved to an area where they had no branch banks.  My account was in the red so I had to call and settle what I owed with them before I closed the account.  I had thought that my time with their bank had come to an end and I would not have to deal with their funky overdraft fees and generally unhelpful phone service, but alas I was wrong... this morning, almost three years after I closed my accounts with them, my father called me and said that an attorney's office had called.  I called back and came to find out that fifth third is claiming that I owe them over $1200 on an account that I had thought I closed.  I never recieved any correspondence from them, no phone call, no email, no letter or invoice... so I went to a local branch to inquire about this.  They told me that indeed, that card was carrying a balance, but there were no transactions, just overdraft fees from the checking account that was closed.  Now call me paranoid, but I feel like they are trying to pass some of the bill of their recent settlement onto a customer who isn't even a customer anymore.  All the staff at the local branch gave me some very confused looks as we tried to sort out what exactly was going on, but in the end no one knew anything...  I still have no idea whats going on with it, but I will post when I figure out what has happened, but am generally unsatisfied with the lack of service and notification from fifth third bank.  I would not reccomend this bank to anyone.

BEWARE....Before You Use You Debit Or Credit Card Through Fifth Third Bank, Read This.

     When using your credit card with a logo of mastercard, visa, etc.... Fifth Third bank will not protect your purchases, as stated in their contract with you.  This is fraud to encourage people to use their bank card, but not stand behind their promise to protect you from products, or services  you never receive when purchased with your credit card.  I purchases airline tickets through Direct AIR, and soon afterwards, direct air filed bankrupcy, and shut down all their flights.  My tickets became worthless, and Direct Air instructed all that was effected by the shutdown, to go through their credit card company for a refund.  I have filled out paperwork that Fifth Third requested me to do, and faxed it back to them.  They sent me an additional form in the mail, and ask for additional information, which I filled out and again, faxed back to them.  They said it would be 30 days before I could expect a refund.  It has been over 45 days now, and nothing.  I know of 8 other people who were effected by this as well, and they received their refunds between 3 days and 2 weeks.  Hurray for banks like Chase Manhattan, PNC and credit unions that stand by their committment to protect their customers who bank with them.    You certainly don't know how good your bank is, until YOU need them.  I have been a good customer with Fifth Third Bank for a long time, but I soon will be withdrawing all my accounts, and will find another bank or maybe a credit union that stands behind their promise to their customers.   

                                                               NO LONGER A FIFTH THIRD FAN

Fifth Third Excessive Overdraft Fees

Posted by: DChipp | Apr 11, 2013

I have a business and personal checking accounts with Fifth Third based in St. Charles, IL.  Have found the local branch staff to be helpful and friendly, but beware of their corporate policies.

One policy is to maximize overdraft fees whenever possible.  They seem to manipulate their transaction processing to short as many customer transactions as possible.  As an example, one night I had multiple debits hitting my account along with some credit card processing credits.  Four debits were all over $100 -- with only one being $9.  When checking my account the following morning, they had charged me $74 for two overdrafts.  Looking into the numbers, they charged me for the $9 debit ... plus a shortage of 15 cents on another debit.  Still haven't received an explanation as to why the $9.15 wasn't handled as one overdraft with a $37 charge against one of the larger debits.

I recently had a $37 overdraft fee hit my personal account one morning at 11:00 AM -- but my online statement clearly showed a deposit (tax return) hit the account at 1:20 AM that same morning.  Apparently it doesn't matter if the overdraft amount is only there for a matter of seconds before the credit hits the account ... the customer still has to pay the $37 overdraft fee.

Seems like white collar crime to me.

Donna Chipp

Not To Be Trusted

Posted by: wildone654 | Jun 9, 2015

I have banked with 53rd for 3 years now, ever since I moved to Ohio and bought a house, and it has been nothing but problems. The mortgage process with 53rd was slow and frustrating, much worse than when I bought my first house with HSBC. The closing date constantly had to be pushed back because they did not have papers ready when they said. Since closing on my house they failed to pay my home owners insurance out of my escrow account for 9 months, I had to be told by my insurance company that my bill had not been paid. Also they underestimated my escrow requirement, and then overestimated it paying out to me $300 from my escrow and then a month later telling me I owed $2400 to my escrow account or had to increase my mortgage payments $200 for the next 12 months. Yeah that was fun. Additionally online payments are constantly delayed, taking days to post to my account after the bills had been paid. Recently I had a bill payment go through that was an order of magnitude higher than it was supposed to be($2k instead of $200) and although I reached out immediately was told there was nothing they could do. They said they would wave the $25 overdraft fee, and then charged me $150 in fees, but said they could only wave $75.

If you go into a branch they are always nicer and courteous, but I question their competence with every transaction. I would not recommend them for a mortgage or checking account to anyone for any reason. I have no experience with them for loans or credit cards.

Fifth Third Bank

Posted by: apau5367 | May 6, 2015

I am currently the holder of a Fifth Third bank account, debit card and credit card. I have been with this company for over 3 years now and I love it. I have never had any problems with money, fees or any other bank related issues. The one reason I first chose to even open up a bank account with this company was because at that time, they were offering $100 to any new person who opened up an account. Me, being a huge guzzler for savings and money, I automatically took advantage of the offer and opened up an account. I have not regretted it since. There are plenty of ATM's and Fifth Third places where I live and never have any problems transferring, depositing or retrieving money. I definitely recommend this bank.

Late Fees Over Charge

Posted by: JohnLakes | Sep 21, 2012

I had a car loan with this bank and the payment was mailed 10 days before it was due, yet they said it was receiced late. I did a test and mailed a letter to the bank and it was received in 4 days.   I called and complained about the late charges andI was told they hold the payments in the in box so they can make them late.  The employee said do you know how many late charges we add on monthly and thats a lot of $$$... They hurt my credit rating,  they didn credit may last payment to the account and when I called for the title they they would mail in in 30 days ...60 days later I get   repo notice and they tried to use ON STAR to locate the car and sent the repo people to my home and work... I had the ON star disconnect when I 1st got wind of their dirty  tricks...It took 60 days of hiding the car and trying to work out a payment plan for the late charges,  The repo guys came on my property several times looking for the car when they said they would work with me.  DO NOT TRUST THIS BANK  THEY LIE, 

The credit card of the past two years had un explained late payment charges too, I CANCELLED ALL MY ACCOUNTS WITH THEM

BEWARE Of FIFTH THIRD

I am starting a small business, I went to Fifth Third to set up company financials with them.. BIG MISTAKE!!! First off none of my cards would work and then they got blocked. I had done one transaction! Everyone I spoke to gave me a different story and I even called the corporate office. They all assured me that everything was fixed. Next day not only were my business accounts locked but they merged everything with my personal accounts and my husbands. That took a whole day to correct and several tellers plus a supervisor. I then started ordering product for my company and my credit card got declined, WHAT!!!! Oh yes, brand new card they blocked once again. So after two weeks, bad rep with my vendors and some won't do business with me, I am going to post everywhere I can the warning of doing business with this bank. If you are thinking about starting a business and you want to succeed at it do not take your account to them. We are pulling all our finances out of that bank first thing tomorrow morning.

AVOID THIS BANK! Hidden Business Account Fees And A Final Gotcha

Posted by: Anonymous | Feb 17, 2012

I have had my business and personal accounts with Fifth Third both for 20+ years. In January, I noticed a nominal $3 monthly on the business account. When I went to close the business account, I was slammed with a $50 account closure fee - and a $3 monthly fee.

NOWHERE in 5/3 account holder documents, or revisions to those documents. Does it state a new $3 fee for written monthly statements, nor a $50 account closure fee.

I had decided some months ago to close my accounts and move to an entirely different bank because of substantially declining customer service over the past three years. The teller and branch management staff has been nothing but a revolving door in recent years, and no one recognizes me from Adam anymore. Cashing one of my own low-value business checks became more like running a gauntlet than a routine business transaction.

The company has clearly no loyalty to long-time Customers, and it's time to move own.

I'm seriously pissed at the situation and at the bank - far more than can be revealed by words, simply because I want this comment to be posted and not deleted.

AVOID THIS BANK LIKE THE PLAGUE!

Fifth Third Bank Surpasses Other BANKS

Posted by: CANDCOURT | Jan 19, 2015

My husband and I walked into 5/3 Bank in our neighborhood. We have seen many locations for the 5/3 Bank in our city in South Western Michigan so we thought that would be convenient for us to bank with them. We waited for a person to explain the checking and savings accounts and in a few short minutes our banking professional was calling us to her desk. She looked very knowledgeable and was very warm and accepting to us. We sat and told her we were there to open a new account but wanted to see their plans. She asked us our age which at the time was 58. She smiled broadly and told us about the senior account that starts once a customer turned 60. She said we were close enough in age to qualify for that account. She explained the features which included no charges on the account. Even the checks were free. We were happy about that because we use printed checks. The other features of the account included debit cards which when we used them had no fees for withdrawals. That was a good feature for us. We had on-line banking which is great for me, obsessive as it is, I balance the checkbook almost every day. The best feature that I like is that there are student checking accounts available that are connected to our account. We have two sons that are students and like to transfer their cash right into their account. We can log on to their accounts and see what they are paying for and what money they have available to them. We made our first deposit and walked out with our debit cards and some generic checks. We put an order in for printed checks which we had in one week's time. Free. That was a big plus for us. I do on line banking and pay for the house payment, car payment, insurance and many other bills. I save money on postage and do not have to wait for the mail to deliver the payments to my creditors. I love the locations of the banks. There are five within a mile or two of my home. When we are out of town I can always find a Fifth Third Bank. We went to Boyne City and asked where the bank we wanted was and they pointed out the window a few doors down, even in Northern Michigan, our bank is available and convenient.

Great Back overall

Posted by: Davied | Jan 13, 2015

Fifth third back satisfies all my needs as consumer needing to store my money while still having easy access to those funds. The locations are convenient and easy to locate as well as having an easy to understand layout. All my experiences with employees have been nothing but positive. At my local fifth third the bank tellers are so nice and helpful. I once had an accidental overdraft and I received nothing but helpful tips and eventually my funds were restored. If you are on the fence between what bank to choose I would highly recommend fifth third. I can promise that you will be satisfied with your banking experience as well as the customer service available. They also have many different options for banking that you are bond to find a service that fits what you are looking for. Stop looking for another bank and sign with fifth third! you will not be disappointed.

Fifth Third Bank Unsatisfactory Teller Service

Posted by: TLTucker | Nov 21, 2014

I had a Fifth Third Bank account in Pittsburgh, PA. I made a deposit last month thinking it was fine. I had been paid by a company I had worked for and deposited the check. The teller accepted the check and gave me a small sum out of it as requested and deposited the rest. Later the bank called me and said that it was a fraudulent check. I had no way of knowing this. I returned the money I was advanced from the check and explained what had happened with my employer. The bank closed my account. I feel the teller should have caught the fraudulent check before I deposited it. And, since it was a teller error, I feel that my account should not have been closed after I had explained what had happened and paid back the advanced money. I don't recommend this bank to anyone.

Fifth Third Fees

Posted by: Anonymous | May 4, 2011

My mortgage was sold to Fifth Third Bank. Since I live on the west coast, I had never heard of the bank. When I called to arrange to have my monthly mortgage automatically withdrawn from my local bank, I was told that there would be a fee for each transaction. Imagine my indignation that a bank would charge a fee to get their money automatically each month. When I called to get a payoff amount, they wanted to charge $30 just to read the computer screen and tell me an amount. I said no thanks and computed the amount myself based on my interest rate and date. Needless to say, I paid off the mortgage as soon as I could, and hope I never hear of Fifth Third Bank again, and offer my sympathy to those who bank there.

Would Not Recommend To Anyone...

Posted by: kpetkus | Apr 19, 2011

I had a long standing relationship with Fifth Third of over ten years. Throughout those years, their highest level of care and customer service reached "average", but its median grade would reside closer to "poor". I handled their errors as pleasantly as I could, I even kept an open mind and account when my checking and savings account numbers were stolen and drained due to a leak at Fifth Third. This past month, human error caused an account overdraft, and I foolishly thought they would be willing to help me since I have more than enough funds deposited with them in a separate account to cover the expenses in red--this has never happened before. I was ridiculed at the branch I went to for being incapable of handling my personal finances, offered no adjustment or concern and mocked my new bank choice. I am extremely disappointed and hope they find a way to improve customer service and account alerts. In the meantime I am extremely happy with the perks offered with my new bank and the customer service is tremendous. I will never recommend fifth third to anyone I know, and I will actively ensure people are aware of the better quality of service and ease of transfer to a number of different banks. 

FIFTH THIRD BANK IS THE DEVIL

Posted by: Anonymous | May 2, 2012

I RECENTLY OPENED A SAVINGS ACCOUNT AND I HAVE HAD A CHECKING ACCOUNT FOR 6 YEARS. I WAS CHARGED AN "EXCESSIVE WITHDRAW" FEE ($20) FOR HAVING MORE THAN 6 TRANSACTIONS IN ONE MONTH. I THINK IT IS OUTRAGEOUS THAT FIFTH THIRD CAN CHARGE ME A FEE FOR WITHDRAWING MY MONEY FROM MY SAVINGS ACCOUNT. I CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE AND I WAS TOLD THAT THIS WAS A LEGITIMATE FEE. THE ONLY THING THAT IS LEGITIMATE IS THAT FIFTH THIRD BANK IS OUT TO SCREW YOU OVER WHENEVER THEY HAVE THE CHANCE. SHAME ON YOU! GREEDY PEOPLE ARE THE DEVIL.

fifth third is first in my mind

Posted by: JimmyD. | Jun 9, 2014

I have banked with the 5th Third Bank on Richmond Road since the day they opened. I LOVE this bank! They are highly efficient and very friendly. The employees treat me like family. They are efficient and very helpful.

The Worst Company I Have Ever Done Business With!

Posted by: Anonymous | Feb 10, 2012

I have had multiple accounts with Fifth Third, going on 12 years now. To explain, everything would take hours or days, so I'll keep it short and to the point. Fifth Third is the worst company I have every had the misfortune of doing business with. They are just now sending out checks to customers from the 9 million dollar settlement because they cheated customers out of extra overdraft fees. My claim was denied for reasons unknown. I have called the Fifth Third overdraft settlement line, the customer service line, the corporate office, and went in to my home branch. Not one person could give me a reason why my claim was denied. They just said "sorry we cant help you." Please, if you are looking for a new bank don't consider Fifth Third as an option. I don't know why I stayed with them so long. I guess because of convenience. This is just one of many strikes and like I said, it would take all day to tell you about them all. This is just the most recent and one of the worst. Next week I will close my accounts after finding a new bank. With the worst luck in the world I will find a better bank than Fifth Third.

SKIP A PAYMENT LETTER WITH FIFTH THIRD BANK

Posted by: FORBESH | Nov 15, 2011

THIS IS PROBABLY THE WORST BANK I HAVE EVER HAD TO DEAL WITH. THE PRESIDENT OF THE BANK SOLICITED ME A LETTER TO SKIP A PAYMENT FOR 55.00 BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN SUCH A GREAT PAYING CUSTOMER.  WELL I MAIL MY CHECK OUT FOR 55.00 JUST LIKE THE LETTER SAID AND PUT ON THERE WHAT MONTH. I GUESS MY CHECK DIDNT MAKE IT IN TIME AND I CALLED THE BANK AND THEY REVERSED MY PAYMENT THAT THEY TOOK. THE PERSON ON THE PHONE WAS VERY UNPROFESSIONAL AND ACTED LIKE HE DIDNT EVEN CARE WHAT HAPPEN AFTER HE REVERSED MY PAYMENT. I HAD A BAD FEELING WHEN I WAS ON THE PHONE WITH HIM ABOUT THE WHOLE THING. THEN A WEEK LATER I SEE MY CHECK WAS CASHED AND A PAYMENT WAS REVERSED AGAIN SO I CALL THE BANK AND THEY TELL ME EVERYTHING IS FINE...UNTIL A MONTH LATER I START GETTING PHONE CALLS AFTER PHONE CALL AND A LETTER SAYING I HAVE A LATE PAYMENT AND FEES NOW. SO I CALL THE BANK AGAIN AND AGAIN THEY TELL ME I DONT OWE ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING IS FINE. THIS WENT ON FOR 3 MONTHS BACK AND FORTH. EVERY TIME I CALLED THEY PROMISED TO GET A SUPERVISOR INVOLVED AND A CALL BACK WITHIN 24-48 HOURS...WELL ITS NOW 4 MONTHS LATER AND I AM STILL CALLING AND STILL NOT GETTING ANY ANSWERS. NOW IT LOOKS LIKE I HAVE BAD CREDIT BECAUSE OF THE LATE PAYMENT FEES. I EVEN WENT AS FAR AS TO WRITE A 3 PAGE LETTER TO THE PRESIDENT AND STILL DONT HAVE ANSWERS. THIS BANK BY FAR HAS HAD THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND COMMUNICATION WITH ONE ANOTHER THEN I HAVE EVER HAD TO DEAL WITH. I DO NOT RECCOMMEND THAT YOU DO ANY KIND OF BANKING WITH FIFTH THIRD BANK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Everything About This Bank Sucks.

Posted by: Anonymous | Sep 29, 2011

Customer service is horrible. Nobody at the call center speaks English. It takes at least 30 minutes to make a payment for a car loan. They ask your whole life story when you call there and verify everything. This bank is so ridiculous I can't even explain how bad this bank stinks. Please, nobody go to this bank. I wish I could vote for no stars.

New Customer

Posted by: Anonymous | Aug 19, 2011

I recently moved to another state, and had to set up a new checking account. I went with fifth third. First of all, I was told my checking account was free, and it is not.. Second the online banking they have is new, and has "kinks". I have never been late on my mortgage loan payment, and now I have. My mortgage company got my payment 4 days after the "guaranteed paid by date" fifth third had listed on my account. It has been a week and hours on the phone with them and it still has not been rectified. They keep telling me sorry there are kinks they are working it out on the online banking, and that they have had phone and computer problems. They will have somebody call to correct the problem as soon as they can to have all my late fees taken care of. I am just glad I have not started my new job yet, or I don't know how I would have had so much time to waste on the phone with them getting this taken care of... My other bank, Regions, I have been with for 17 years and never had a single problem! I will most likely be looking for a new bank soon!!!

Long Time Customer - Treated Like Dirt

Posted by: Anonymous | Jun 23, 2011

I moved to Western Ohio and opened an account at 53 about 10 years ago. I have rarely had issues (maybe 3 or 4 over 10 years) and each time they treated me like dirt.

The first instances was an overdraft of like $1 that they assessed $25 overdraft fees for. The customer service was rude but they removed it...fine I suppose.

However, the last straw was when a decimal error on an electronic payment caused a temporary overdraft. 53 wasn't hearing about human error and assessed about $175 in overdraft fees over a 2 day period. The accidental over-payment was promptly credited by the other bank at the 2 day mark. Customer service this time around wasn't rude but the bank employees were.

Furthermore, I work with a lot of ex-53 employees including corporate office employees. Every one of them hated their former employer with a passion and called it "Evil Empire". Note that these employees were not fired - most of them were sick of what they felt was the abomination of corporate greed and poor quality of life.

Caveat emptor.

Ridiculous With Fees.

Posted by: Anonymous | May 12, 2011

I give Fifth Third Bank one star because there is no option for zero stars. First of all they will charge you overdraft fees for pending charges even when there is a pending deposit that is sufficient to cover all of the charges. We had less than a dollar in our account but a direct deposit was pending in our account when we decided to rent a movie at our local Redbox. We had a free movie code that we used but they still ping your account for a dollar to ensure that it is indeed an active account. This "ping" was pending at the same time our deposit was pending, but we still got charged an overdraft fee. They are absolutely no help in this situation either. In all, because of this charge, it costed a ridiculous amount of money because our rent check had already been mailed out and there were no launder enough funds to cover that so it bounced and not only did we get charged a bounce fee, but our landlord charged us extra as well. We, as a good portion of America does, operate our life paycheck to paycheck and every dollar is extremely important. Once behind, it is a several month battle before we can stabilize our finances.

Great Till You Need Help.

Posted by: Darbyden | May 10, 2011

I've been a customer of 5/3 for about 5 years.  I chose them because they are in a lot of states where I have family.  My experience has been that, as long as they're selling you something they're very nice. On a day to day experience almost everyone is pleasant.  In the Ohio branch that I deal with they are wonderful.  There is no prioblem that they can't handle and correct.  In the Florida branch that I deal with they are on average dumber then rocks.  In this branch there is NOTHING that they can handle.  This, in my opinion has to be a mamagment problem.  My point is, it really depends on the manager at the branch that you do business with.  I thought about switching banks a couple of times, but you know what?  They're all pretty much the same. 

Fifth Third Bank Review

Posted by: egreib | Feb 21, 2011

So far I've never had a particularly bad experience with Fifth Third. The staff is friendly, and they seem to really care about my needs as a customer. They helped set me up with a checking account that was suitable for me. I would recommend the local Fifth Third to my friends and family.

Good Service, Good Enough

I opened an account with Fifth Third because they were the bank inside of the grocery store where I started working as a high school student, and it was easy.

I have never been thrilled with their services. But that isn't to say I've ever been disappointed either. They have always been reasonabily friendly and reachable, helpful enough.

I would reccomend them.

Great Service

Posted by: Anonymous | Nov 29, 2011

I have been a customer at Fifth Third for several years. The staff has been fantastic to deal with, and the return on my savings account has been the best in our area. The staff knows my wife and I by name, and makes us feel confident about our banking relationship. If I had one complaint it would be very minor and that is the slowness of their computer system. Sometimes takes longer than it should to transact business due to the computer system. But, that is minor. I do business with three banking institutions, but Fifth Third is by far my favorite.

JAC

Low Rates, But Otherwise A Good Bank

Posted by: Andrew | Apr 22, 2011

I have been banking with Fifth Third for nearly ten years. I have never had any trouble managing my checking and savings accounts with them. They are efficient and thorough. Their online banking can be a pain, but I know that a lot of that deals with issues of privacy, so you cannot really blame them for being vigilant about fraud. All in all I have a great overall experience with Fifth Third, although I wish their savings and certificate of deposit interest rates were a little higher; but don't we all?

No Problems

I have been a member of 5/3 bank for almost 10 years now. I have not had any troubles with them. I have a checking and saving account and have had CDs in the past. Throughout all of my experiences with the bank, I have continued going there and enjoyed the service I have received.

Fifth Third Bank General Review

Posted by: mollygirl | Feb 22, 2011

I have used fifth third bank since it bought first charter, about three years now. I have had very few issues with the bank and find my transactions to all be smooth. My only problem was that one of their advertised programs wasn't real according to the bank managers (or the terms were weird enough that I couldn't qualify for the rewards. However I have had a very pleasent experience overall. Their online banking is a breeze and when I go into my local branch I am greeted by name and know all the workers. It is a very wonderful experience.