Optum Bank, Inc. Reviews

Average Rating:
Based on 40 review
s


5 star:
(0)
4 star:
(0)
3 star:
(0)
2 star:
(1)
1 star:
(39)

MK Williams

Posted by: |

Optum manages my Retiree HSA account. In April, 2022 I used their debit card 4 times and they challenged 2 out of the 4 charges! Demanding that I provide additional documentation about the charges, or they will refuse access to MY OWN FUNDS! There was nothing suspicious about the debits. One was to directly to a medical lab for my routine pap smear, BILLED BY MY OB/GYN, and the second charge was to a medical imaging center called Solis mammography imaging for a diagnostic mammogram! For heaven sake, nothing about those charges are suspect!! Also, why are they challenging 50% of my the debits TO MY OWN FUNDS? This extra BS I must go through is harassment and the "customer service" department is a complete JOKE! Robotic, incompetent agents who refuse to escalate to a supervisor or manager or even give the name of person in charge! I can't find the receipt for the lab bill. When I asked what happens next, does Optum keep my money? I was told a supervisor whould call " within 24-48 " hours to explain. That was a week ago, I have not been called. How can Optum get away with this?

Tax Form On Death Distribution

Posted by: |

I closed out my late husband's HSA after my husband's death in 2021. Received the check promptly, Problem is that I still (4/14/2022) have NOT received the tax form detailing the distribution. After a total of 8 phone calls over a span of two and a half1 months, A "supervisor" explained to me that death distributions don't belong on 1099-SA And apparently didn't know that they are taxable. My solution is to refer them to the IRS and my state SCDOR. And let them deal with the idiocy of Optum.

If I could give 0 stars, I would.

They Will Try To Keep Your Money

Posted by: |

An absolute joke! They REFUSE to give me my HSA card after 3 months of having an account. No help at "Customer Care" or any other customer service number provided. They lie, tell you a different story in each phone call, transfer you to irrelevant departments if you ask for the help of a supervisor, and refuse to put anything in writing. Any guesses why?

RUN FROM THIS POORLY RUN COMPANY! There is an excellent reason for their 1/5-star review average on Google. Read about the 200 other very dissatisfied customers' experiences if you don't believe me.

THIEVES SCAMMERS LIARS!!

I have been trying for WEEKS to get my money from this “bank”. After being laid off from my job I wanted to close my HSA account I called “customer service” if that’s what you want to call this sham, I told them I wanted to close my account, they said ok it will take 7-10 to receive a check. I said no I want my money transferred to my Chase account, the one on file, I had been making deposits from for the past year into their account with no problems. The agent said ok that would take 3-5 business days. TWO WEEKS (14) days later I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY $1,115.59!! I have called customer service repeatedly for my money only to be told call your bank MAYBE they have it! Really?? Then I was told wait 5 more days sometimes the system is confused and you money is PENDING SOMEWHERE!! You don’t know where my money is and you’re a bank?? I have asked for supervisors only to be told none were available and they would call me back. Of course NOTHING. Customer service is a joke it’s outsourced overseas and you can’t half ever understand what they are saying, they just keeping reading the same script OVER and OVER and never find a resolution. If your job overs this as an HSA, AVOID IT, DO NOT USE YOU WILL NEVER GET YOUR MONEY BACK!! I wish I could give ZERO stars!

Don’T Bother With Customer Service Unless You Have Hours To Spend

Posted by: |

So thankful that my HR department switched us to another provider after Optum decided to start charging a monthly fee. Had to call customer service after the account was changed in February because Optum never sent me tax forms and shut off my account access. After 3 hours of being transferred back and forth from their 866 number, 844 number, and 877 number I realized they were all just passing me around with no intention of getting me my tax forms. Several of the 9 employees I spoke with tried to put the blame on my new HSA bank saying they should have my tax forms. Why would a bank I just got transferred to in February 2022 have my tax forms from Optum for 2021? When I finally told the 10th person I was transferred to that I no longer wanted to speak with them that I wanted to speak with a supervisor they magically realized I had been locked out of the account and just needed a link to reset my password. I finally had access to my tax forms after a 3 hour and 18 minute ordeal that required me waiting on hold and speaking with 10 different people. If this what Optum Bank calls customer service I am so glad that my boss decided to transfer my account instead of me paying a monthly fee for this type of “service”.

Worst HSA And Benefits Vendor

Posted by: |

I have 45 years in the employee benefits consulting business working with large clients.

Optum is by far the worst vendor in the HSA arena.

No customer service. Terrible systems that are not user friendly.

DO NOT USE OPTUM FOR ANYTHING

Posted by: |

Optum decided they were going to change to Visa instead of .Master Card and declined payments BEFORE I recieved a new card even though my card was good for another month. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES USE AN OPTUM ACCOUNT FOR YOUR HSA.

Support Doesn't Know Their Own Policies

Posted by: |

I was charged a paper statement fee. I never signed up for it. I was informed that it is required by my cardholder services agreement.
So while waiting for them to show me where that is on the site (It isn't) I read the copy I had. It isn't there. It points to the HSA agreement. Which I mentioned and the support person went looking for it. They couldn't find it on the site either. It is listed in the HSA agreement for paper statements but since I didn't sign up for one as evidenced by my preferences, then I shouldn't have been charged.
A ticket was raised for my dispute.
I now have a request to my HR team if I can move my account from them to a different provided. If you can lie about a small thing then you'll lie about a big one too.

Red Tape & Fees

Left my job that had Optum HSA and was told the HSA money was mine, so I didn't check on it for a few months (other than to change investment contribution; website was not the best to use & had very little useful info/details).

Finally checked the balance online, and the account was hit with a $2.75 monthly maintenance fee since I stopped contributing to it, on top of the usual admin fees for investments. The fees also eat away at the HSA balance that has a minimum balance requirement.

So I decided to transfer the HSA to Fidelity, but the website did not have clear instructions on transferring in-kind investments. I ended up changing the investment elections to a Fidelity fund, thinking this could get transferred. Changing to a different fund took 3 days.

I then started the transfer process at Fidelity, which they estimated would take 2 weeks (on Optum's part). After 2 weeks, I called Optum to ask about the transfer, CS rep said I had to liquidate the investment and call back to get the transfer paperwork started.

Liquidated investment on a Wednesday & it shows up as transactions on the same day in the investment account, but not HSA cash account. Called Optum again and was told it'd take 3-5 days to process, but unlikely to process by Friday, so next week then. Cash disbursement does not show up as a pending transaction, but shows up as a processed transaction back dated to Thursday. The balance however does not include the disbursement as of Friday.

I don't really understand why an investment to HSA transfer takes more than 3 days. They sell the mutual fund EOD, takes 2 days to settle funds, and the funds should go from investment account to HSA account the same day, if not instantly when they get the funds from sale.

On top of waiting till next week to call them to start the transfer to Fidelity, CS rep said it would take 7-10 days to do so. In all likelihood, I'll get hit with another monthly maintenance fee.

Did I mention the website isn't the easiest to use and contains only basic info (or hides relevant info needed to make a decision)?

Only positive for me is I didn't have a need to use the HSA for a medical purpose. Would hate to think of the hoops I'd have to jump through just for some vitamins or copay.

Fraud Dept Is Overseas And Outsourced

Posted by: |

Voice Connection is terrible quality.

Received notification of a possible fraud. Had them cancel the card. Big Surprise - they can't replace the card. "You have to call your bank for that. We are just the fraud Department".

So they have access to my details to verify my identity, and my transactions -but are lacking a button on there screen that says "Replace Card".

Who does that? Someone that never wants you to spend any of your HSA.

Optum Financial Worst Ever

Posted by: |

My bank merged and our HSA was transferred to Optum. They failed to send a credit card and had to call. Set up an account and then could not access. It's been months and cannot access to pay medical bills. Been run in circles and circles and circles attempting to access account. ZERO stars. Worst company I have ever dealt with.

FSA Experience Is Horrible

Posted by: |

Regardless of what I buy on Amazon HSA/FSA store, this card gives a decline. Customer support says "coded wrong." Previous FSA providers and HSA providers had zero issues.

Asked me to submit receipts 6 months afterwards for a charge at my dentist's office. I had lost the receipt and it took a lot of effort to pay Optum for my originally valid FSA charge.

I'm just submitting receipts every time now and getting reimbursed from charges on my other cards. This is the worst experience I've ever had with this sort of account. I never want to use Optum Financial and wish my employer didn't switch to them.

Optum Bank Is HORRIBLE For HSA Accounts

Posted by: |

I have been trying to transfer my money OUT of Optum Bank to another HSA provider since July 23, It is now Sept 3. This effort is *STILL* not completed. As others have reported Optum Bank will not respond to a TRANSFER request. Optum Bank continually tells me that have not received any request to transfer. Baloney. DO NOT USE OPTUM BANK for ANYTHING.

They Won't Let Me Withdraw My Money

Posted by: |

I put money into Optum Bank for an HSA. When I submitted a claim, it stayed in "pending" status for weeks. I finally tried contacting them through their website, but no response after a week. I tried calling them a few times, but as soon as you request to talk to a rep they hang up on you. I will never trust Optum with my money again.

So Bad I Made This Acct Just To Give The A 1-Star Review

Posted by: |

They're so unorganized and customer service is absolutely useless. They've sent me the same exact address change confirmation literally 10+ times even after I contacted to tell them to stop sending it (I had already confirmed the change long before that). Now I need a bank statement for loan application and my most recent month's statement is not available even though we're 9 months into the current month. All customer service told me was to check the statements page after I already told them I had done that and it wasn't there. Wish I could change banks but this is my HSA which my employer is in charge of.

I Can't Find One Positive Review?

Posted by: |

This is terrible! My electricity is being shut off thanks to these evil people. What happened to the BBB?

Customer Service The Worse

Posted by: |

I am so sick of dealing with these people! They give you and your physician the run around. Its endless with these people. I'm starting to think someone in the company is stealing money! Cant talk to anyone to get payments that are out in limbo reimbursed back into our account!! Someone must be on a nice vacation somewhere as to why you get the run around!

FSA Account

Every time I have try to use my worthless debit/credit card it gets decline. I got my account for only one purpose and I have uploaded the receipt plenty of times now. If the company you work for offers fsa through this company. Probably not a good idea. I waste more time send my receipt than is worth. I am very dissatisfied with this company! If I could give them 0 stars I would!

Scammers For Death Of Acct Holders

Posted by: |

My brother died last September, and he had 1300 in a HSA acct through optum. I sent in the death certificate and other paperwork that says I'm next of kin. All they do is keep sending me letters and runarounds. Worst place ever to deal with any acct. If I could give it minus 5 stars I would. Asked them to have a manager call me back constantly and nothing. No integrity nor customer service. But they do continue to collect interest on my brother's money while he's dead.

NOT Optimum Experience!

Posted by: |

Individual HSA - Optum has a history of receiving transfers from my account (i.e., CASH funds are electronically withdrawn from an outside account to my HSA) and they do not make them available from my HSA for days after they have the money. So I no longer have MY money in one account ... and I cannot access MY money in my HSA. Their policy says "it MAY take up to 5 business days from the initiation date for funds to become available." It should read, "WE WILL TAKE 5 OR MORE BUSINESS DAYS ..."

HSA Is Functionally Useless; Effectively A Scam

Posted by: |

My experience with Optum HSA is that it is functionally useless; they take money from you, but when you spend it on healthcare, as stipulated, and submit itemized receipts for an eye exam (just as an example), it is rejected for "not being a valid medical expense". Nobody from customer service will answer any question about why a claim is denied (even if it's for a medical expense).

This company needs to be shut down; they do not provide the service they claim to provide.

Fraud Enablers

Posted by: |

If I could give them zero stars, I would. If your employer is looking for a HSA vendor, tell them to steer clear of Optum Bank. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. I had the HSA through a previous employer and was not really using it. I did not monitor the account because I trusted Optum Bank to monitor my account for any unusual activity or fraud. They failed miserably. My wife went to the doctor and used our HSA credit card. The card was declined and when I called Optum Bank to find out the balance, we were robbed of $2900.00 all from the same vendor. Optum Bank failed to flag these transactions as fraud and allowed these charges to continue. The fraud unit investigated and gave us half the money back claiming that is all they were responsible for. Getting the money back was not easy. They dragged their feet for 6 months. They failed to look out for fraud, and they pointed the finger back at me – they took zero responsibility . They are corporate criminals and their executive team belongs in jail.

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!

Posted by: |

I had the worst experience with Optum. I kept receiving cards but they never worked and finally decided to cancel my membership. Luckily I got back all the money from July's reimbursement. Despite my cancellation, they still charged me for August. Like WTF!?!? They promised to reimburse me for August. They only sent me $8.50 check in the mail and still owe $156. I was promised numerous times on the phone that I would be reimbursed, once being told that I would receive it as a deposit then a second time being promised that I would receive it in the mail. Then the final time being told by their supervisor that I would never receive the $156. Pretty fucked up that they never reimbursed me for August despite chasing them and waiting on them during September and August. Really just an awful experience. I don't advise Optum to anybody and I guess I shouldn't be surprised to see such awful reviews on this site. Optum, you SUCKKKKK!!!

Bounced Checks

Posted by: |

Optum bounced a $5000 check payable to my dentist because I hadn't transferred enough to cover the check from my HSA investment account. Who knew? $25 returned check fee incurred. Wells Fargo, our previous HSA administrator, did it automatically. Optum bounced a second $5000 check to same dentist for no apparent reason. Needed to "research it". I told the customer rep that I expected a check from Optum for the second $25 returned check fee along with an explanation. I am not at all confident future bounces won't happen! I have way more in the account than is needed to cover these checks. I will be transferring my account out of Optum as soon as this mess is straightened out.

Pay Gets Deducted For Commuter Benefits - They Refuse To Refund Or Send Replacement Voucher

This company should not be in business! They are unethical and very incompetent.

My company utilizes Optum Bank/OptumHealth Bank/Optum Financial for commuter transportation benefits (owned by UnitedHealth Group). Every month, my paycheck is automatically deducted to receive a transit voucher check from Optum Bank. It is a new service we have been utilizing since March 2019. The 1st two months I received my vouchers and utilized my voucher checks with no issues. In late April 2019, I received an email (as usual) saying my "order was fulfilled) for my May transit. I never received the voucher check from Optum Bank. I've had numerous emails and phone calls with them for over one MONTH. They said I need to furnish an "out-of-pocket" receipt. When I supplied them a copy of my paystub (highlighting the transit deduction), a letter from my company's finance department and the actual email fulfillment message that I received from Optum when the order was processed. They said that all my documentation does not "count" according to their policy. They said I will need to furnish an "out-of-pocket" receipt, which absolutely makes no sense. Why would I pay an additional $100 "out-of-pocket" to furnish a receipt? I refuse pay an additional $100 of my pay in order to get reimbursed; in essence, I would still be $100 short, because they refuse to reimburse me for the initial $100! To date, they still refuse to reimburse me!

Please do your research! You will see they have horrible reviews all over the internet.

THEY ARE THIEVES! DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM - you will be sorry!

This Is The Worst Place On The Planet

Posted by: |

Do not ever do business with this place - I have been trying to get an APPROVED expense payment for 6 months - It has been escalated NUMEROUS times and every time I call back - I have to wait at least 2 weeks for processing before I can find out if it was sent or not - only to find out every time that it is still pending.......WTF - I will NEVER EVER do business with them again If I could give it 0 stars I would BEWARE OF THIS PLACE

Straight Up Scam

Posted by: |

They may operate just enough within the grey areas of the law to not get caught but be prepared to never see your money again. I've never been able to login to their main website. Always says "Login error try again in 10 minutes" or "Site error please try again". If you do file a claim it will be denied no matter how much documentation you send. If you do talk to customer service (which is almost impossible to reach) they are completely useless. My workplace uses this bank but from everyone here if you open an HSA once you have a decent amount it will be unathourized transfered to an overseas account and their fraud department does nothing. Open an FSA and all charges will be denied for the year and then they get to seize your funds. NEVER give these scumbags money only way you might ever see it again is in the hopeful class action lawsuit. But im sure they'll vanish the moment that comes down. Sorry to anybody else who signed up and is stuck in the same boat as me.

This Bank Stinks

Posted by: |

Here's what to expect from Optum Bank. NOTHING !!! Here;s what they do.
1. Your Doctor submits a bill for services rendered.
2. You pay your bill with your Bank card.
3. Optum receives receipt for expenses.
4. Optum denies claim and suspends your card.
5. Optum states invoice not detailed enough.
6. You go to the doctor and get new more detailed invoice.
7. Optum authorizes partial payment.
8. Wants another more detailed invoice. Card still suspended.
9. After months of this nonsense the say you have to pay the money back.
10.Final advise, put your money in the bank and DON'T let Optum manage your FSA account. At my company more than have opted out of Optum. Because of similar experiences.

Horrible Website Full Of Errors!

Posted by: |

The online account information is filled with inaccuracies. I have had a scheduled investment transaction that never got executed near the end of last year (even though a call to customer service assured me it would take place). And due to that experience and pending contributions not displaying at all, I have an excess contribution that I have to deal with this year. Just logged in and all my account totals are wrong! They don't even agree with the information on the site. I never get any email notifications in spite of trying to update my email via the website and directly with customer service (where they supposedly have it correct on file). I can't believe they have such poorly executed software. Makes me wonder how many real banking inaccuracies occur if they can't even display information correctly.

Awful, Awful, Awful

Posted by: |

My bank decided to exit the HSA business and stuck us with Optum. Awful service. Why in this day and age of ETF it takes 5 days to make a deposit available, I will NEVER be able to figure out. On the rare, unfortunate occasion I have had to talk to one of their *customer service* reps, it has been completely non-productive. They don't know their own product and were not very pleasant. OK, maybe my frustration over their lack of product knowledge made them a little prickly, but for crying out loud. TRAIN YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS!!!!!

Terrible Service

Posted by: |

My HSA was transferred from Wells Fargo and Optum misspelled my name. I spent a frustrating 10 minutes on the phone only to be told I needed to write a letter and fill out a form for a name change. Their mistake - my valuable time!

Wells Fargo To Optum HSA Transition

Horrible transition from Wells Fargo to Optum HSA. Most recently Optum double deducted my 2017 HSA contibution from my bank(interestingly, Wells Fargo). Customer service(Don) was totally unhelpful, totally unconcerned, and totally inept. After 4 days of contacting Optum and Wells Fargo money still not returned. Previous experience with Optum customer service equally frustrating. Optum there's a lot of competition in the market!

Do Not Put Your Money Here

My hsa was transferred here by wells fargo. I can't do anything without the site crashing. It's frustrating and makes me feel as if I can't trust them. Scary. Am looking and will go elsewhere asap.

Go Elsewhere If You Can

Like many thousands of others, I was stuck with Optum when Wells Fargo decided to quit offering HSA accounts and transferred all of them to Optum. I worked for WF, and the whole time I was there as a business banker I was strongly encouraged to sign up as many businesses as possible to offer their employees WF HSA's. Within 90 days of retiring (and setting up several Medicare accounts for ACH payment) WF suddenly changed their mind and dropped HSA's entirely. Great. I was already well aware of Optum's very SUBoptimal Health Benefits website (also used by WF), so I wasn't looking forward to an Optum Bank experience, but it's even worse than I feared. It is not possible to do any transactions on the site without it crashing and asking you to try again later. In the meantime, you don't know if the transaction went through or not. I certainly wouldn't trust it with an Autopay of any important insurance. I'm now shopping for another bank to handle my HSA and will have to transfer all my ACH's once again. So two thumbs down for Optum AND Wells Fargo.

Go Elsewhere With Your HSA

Posted by: |

I would rate this place zero star if the site lets me. Horrible service, unintuitive website, and charges closing fees to transfer the balance. I hope my new HSA bank will be better than this. But the bar is so low I can imagine I could not get better services.

This Bank Can Not Be Trusted

I have some issues with my health saving account. The customer service line has been called to get things corrected. Well, one thing was heard over the phone and entirely different thing seen over my online account. I find it extremely hard to believe they care about anything I have to say about my account. They reassured me that error has been corrected and their website may have a lag of 2-3 days to reflect that change. While it has been over 10 days, nothing has been changed online. Who do I really believe?? If I had other option, I would never choose this place for my HSA.

Optum Health Bank Gives Away A Customers $10832.45 To Someone The Don't Know

Posted by: |

From March 3 2013 thru March 28 2013 Optum Health Bank released $10832.45 out of my Health Savings Account

to foreign companies with out my authorization for purchases made by someone who they don't know. I only became aware of this on 01/31/2013 when I called them about the 1099-SA I received in the mail that showed $8826.70 was distributed out of my account. The customer service agent I reached at the number on the back of my Savings Card directed me to Optum Health Bank's web site and had me create an account so that I could look at the Statements on line.This was my first time on the site and my first  time looking at transaction statements. I'm so upset

with this Bank for its negligence and the lack of concern for my welfare.The rest of the facts concerning this crime and

Optum Health Banks response to it will be on going and I will be posting my story everywhere possible.The word needs to get out that this Bank has no clue about fraud prevention , security of deposits and customer  service. When any resonable person who looks at these 91 transactions in 19 days over 3500 miles away from my home in  foreign countries for non medical purchases red lights should have been flashing in thier fraud department.The rest of this story will come after I hear from thier Fraud Department.

 John Lahm

410 493 7191

 

Poor Service

Posted by: |

I have been with OptumHealth Bank for over 3 years, and the service has been consistently bad. The ONLY reason I have an account there is because it is the only provider offered by my employer for our HSA plan. The account reps I experienced have been in-flexible and treated me as if I owed them for handling my account. The reps I dealt with also had poor knowledge about their product. When I made an extra year-end contribution to my plan they hold held my funds (about $3,000) to the maximum extent allowed by law, even though the funds had cleared my sending bank. This bank also charges heavily for all activities: $3.00 per month service charge; $20.00 for an outbound transfer from your account to another financial institution; etc...additionally, a full listing of the fees are not available on their web site. Clearly this bank knows the tax benefit to an HSA is greater than their charges, and as a result they appear to overcharge and under-invest in quality service. I would never bank here if I didn't have too.

The financial institution, product, and APY (Annual Percentage Yield) data displayed on this website is gathered from various sources and may not reflect all of the offers available in your region. Although we strive to provide the most accurate data possible, we cannot guarantee its accuracy. The content displayed is for general information purposes only; always verify account details and availability with the financial institution before opening an account. Contact [email protected] to report inaccurate info or to request offers be included in this website. We are not affiliated with the financial institutions included in this website.